High school notebook: Carl Albert's Carter LaValley commits to play … – Oklahoman.com

Random topic

Carter LaValley’s huge spring on the diamond has landed him a new college home.
The star Carl Albert shortstop announced Tuesday that he was committing to play next season at Oklahoma, seven months after he signed with Seminole State.
“The conversation was short and sweet,” LaValley wrote on his Twitter page.
LaValley was a star this spring as he led the Titans to the Class 5A state championship game. He homered four times in state.
Throughout the spring, the left-handed leadoff hitter batted .491 with 11 homers, nine doubles, six triples and 49 RBI. He also stole 38 bases. He was named to The Oklahoman’s All-State and Big All-City first teams.
LaValley graduated as the program’s all-time walk leader. He is also second in career stolen bases.
He was a multi-sport star for Carl Albert. He played football his first three years, starting at quarterback at times. He also competed on the swim team this fall, qualifying for the state meet.
Landing in Norman keeps the LaValley connection going with the Sooners. Carter’s older cousin, Gavin, signed with the Sooners out of high school, but was drafted by the Cincinnati Reds. Gavin’s younger sister, Audrie, just completed her freshman year on OU’s softball team.
OSHOF honors athletes of the year
The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame last week honored several high school star athletes across the state along with multiple college football standouts as part of the 35th annual All Sports & Scholar Athlete Awards.
The organization handed out its Jim Thorpe High School Player of the Year awards to 17 athletes. Winners included Kingfisher’s Jett Sternberger and Holland Hall’s Gabby Gregory for basketball; Deer Creek’s Steven Clark and Norman’s Sophia Magg for cross country; Carl Albert’s Dadrion Taylor for football; Stillwater’s Jack Glenn and Edmond Memorial’s Loren Ogburn for golf; U.S. Grant’s Kenneth Gaytan and Norman North’s Elle Abbey for soccer; Carl Albert’s John Ryan Cook and Bartlesville’s Erin Downey for swimming; Edmond Memorial’s Chris Dyer and Oklahoma Bible Academy’s Sarah Reilly for tennis; Boise City’s Colten Brown and Regent Prep’s Ellie Gilbreath for track and field; Catoosa’s Baylee Calico for volleyball; and Choctaw’s Zane Coleman for wrestling.
Beggs football coach David Tenison was named the Jim Thorpe High School Coach of the Year. Southeast’s Cody Freeman won the Virgil Milliron Wrestling Scholarship Award. Ada’s Coleman Prince and Westmoore’s Peyton Glenn each received the Professional Athletes Foundation Scholarship Award.
The National Football Foundation also announced players of the year. Winners included Langston’s Jaylen Lowe, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College’s Austin Whitehead, Oklahoma State’s Dillon Stoner, Central Oklahoma’s Tyler Stilwell, Oklahoma’s Ben Powers and Tulsa’s Akayleb Evans.
OSU’s Mack Butler received the Merv Johnson Integrity in College Coaching Award.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *