SAG Awards 2022 In Memoriam: Sunday’s special segment will honor Sidney Poitier, Betty White, Ed Asner and who else? – Gold Derby


Sunday’s SAG Awards ceremony will return to its normal two-hour live format on TNT and TBS. One of the highlights each year is the special In Memoriam segment. It’s been a particularly rough year with over 100 deaths of prominent actors and actresses who were likely members of SAG/AFTRA. Show producers typically are able to include approximately 40-50 people in a tribute. The 2021 segment saluted 55 people because they had responsibility for 14 months instead of 12.
Among that group will certainly be previous SAG president Ed Asner, who was also a life achievement award recipient. That honorary award was also presented to Sidney Poitier and Betty White, who both died this past year.

Who else might be featured in the 2022 tribute? Look for Oscar winner Olympia Dukakis, Oscar nominees Ned Beatty, Peter Bogdanovich and Dean Stockwell, plus Emmy champs Louie Anderson, Michael Constantine, Charles Grodin, John Madden and Peter Scolari. Other notables from the past year include Michael (“Meat Loaf”) Aday, Stuart Damon, Willie Garson, Howard Hesseman, Dwayne Hickman, Sally Kellerman, Norman Lloyd, Norm Macdonald, Gavin MacLeod, Helen McCrory, Markie Post, Bob Saget, Melvin Van Peebles, Clarence Williams III, Michael K. Williams and Jane Withers.
Here is our expansive list of almost 100 people who died since last year’s ceremony, several of whom will be honored on Sunday’s event:

Lee Aaker
Michael (“Meat Loaf”) Aday
Rick Aiello
Louie Anderson
Ed Asner
Lisa Banes
Ned Beatty
Jean-Paul Belmondo
Val Bisoglio
Peter Bogdanovich
Frank Bonner
Dieter Brummer
Sonny Chiba
Kevin Clark
Michael Constantine
Joan Copeland
Alex Cord
Johnny Crawford
Arlene Dahl
Stuart Damon
Robert Downey, Sr.
Olympia Dukakis
Willie Garson
Larry Gelman
Arlene Golonka
Saginaw Grant
Charles Grodin
Jean Hale
James Hampton
Bridget Hanley
Al Harrington
Cynthia Harris
Billie Hayes
Gloria Henry
Howard Hesseman
Dwayne Hickman
Pat Hitchcock
Robert Hogan
Sally Ann Howes
Max Julien
Alan Kalter
Sally Kellerman
Tommy Kirk
Tawny Kitaen
Hardy Kruger
Joanne Linville
Norman Lloyd
Margarita Lozano
Betty Lynn
Norm Macdonald
Gavin MacLeod
John Madden
Jackie Mason
Biz Markie
Donald Adam May
Helen McCrory
Gloria McMillan
Art Metrano
Camillo Milli
Yvette Mimieux
Sharyn Moffett
Paul Mooney
Moses J. Moseley
Francis Mossman
Michael Nader
Michael Nesmith
Sidney Poitier
Markie Post
Jane Powell
Peter Robbins
Charlie Robinson
Bob Saget
Mort Sahl
Peter Scolari
Willard Scott
Felix Silla
William Smith
Ronnie Spector
Morgan Stevens
Dean Stockwell
James Michael Tyler
Gaspard Ulliel
Melvin Van Peebles
Monica Vitti
Robert Wall
Betty White
Yvonne Wilder
Cara Williams
Clarence Williams III
Michael K. Williams
Jane Withers
Samuel E. Wright
PREDICT the SAG Awards now
Make your predictions at Gold Derby now. Download our free and easy app for Apple/iPhone devices or Android (Google Play) to compete against legions of other fans plus our experts and editors for best prediction accuracy scores. See our latest prediction champs. Can you top our esteemed leaderboards next? Always remember to keep your predictions updated because they impact our latest racetrack odds, which terrify Hollywood chiefs and stars. Don’t miss the fun. Speak up and share your huffy opinions in our famous forums where 5,000 showbiz leaders lurk every day to track latest awards buzz. Everybody wants to know: What do you think? Who do you predict and why?

International Film panel (click the photo above to watch the 1-hour video)
Senior editor Denton Davidson hosts 6 top awards contenders:

TV Showrunners panel (click the photo above to watch the 1-hour video)
Senior editor Rob Licuria hosts 3 top awards contenders:

Film Animation panel (click the photo above to watch the 1-hour video)
Contributing editor Charles Bright hosts 5 top awards contenders:

Film Composers panel (click the photo above to watch the 1-hour video)
Senior editor Christopher Rosen hosts 5 top awards contenders:

Film Production Design panel (click the photo above to watch the 1-hour video)
Contributing editor Rob Licuria hosts 4 top awards contenders:
On the latest episode, Oscar experts Joyce Eng and Christopher Rosen debate the Spirit Awards snubs and surprises, plus they discuss the release of ‘Glass Onion’ in theaters.
54 mins ago
1 hour ago
24 mins ago
1 hour ago
1 hour ago
Take a trip back to the Academy Awards ceremonies of the recent past with Gold Derby’s Oscars Playback series. Hosts Joyce Eng and Christopher Rosen recap every Oscar ceremony of the 1990s — as well as some added bonus shows. Joyce and Chris tackle the highs and lows of each show and see how the winners aged. It’s a wonderful night for Oscar, whenever you watch!
Gold Derby is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2022 Gold Derby Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Deadline Media


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *